Excitement Builds as Rosters Set for Isobel Cup Playoffs

by NWHL Media

March 15, 2021 (Brooklyn, N.Y.) – The National Women’s Hockey League today announced the approval of team rosters for the 2021 Isobel Cup Playoffs, presented by Discover, taking place March 26-27 at Warrior Ice Arena in Brighton, Massachusetts.

Rosters for the top-seeded Toronto Six, number two Minnesota Whitecaps, third-ranked Connecticut Whale, and fourth-seeded Boston Pride include a maximum of 21 players who must have been contracted by the team for the entire season and eligible for the competition earlier this year in Lake Placid.

2021 NWHL Playoff Rosters:

Boston Pride:

Goaltenders - Victoria Hanson, Lovisa Selander.

Defensemen - Paige Capistran, Kaleigh Fratkin, Lauren Kelly, Briana Mastel, Jenna Rheault, Mallory Souliotis, Taylor Turnquist.

Forwards - McKenna Brand, Sammy Davis, Jillian Dempsey, Lexie Laing, Meghara McManus, Mary Parker, Christina Putigna, Meg Rickard, Tori Sullivan, Carlee Turner, Tereza Vanisova, Taylor Wenczkowski.

Connecticut Whale:

Goaltenders - Abbie Ives, Brooke Wolejko.

Defensemen - Hanna Beattie, Shannon Doyle, Lauren Hill*, Tori Howran, Maggie LaGue, Taylor Marchin, Elena Orlando.

Forwards - Kaycie Anderson, Maddie Bishop, Amanda Conway, Kayla Friesen, Nicole Guagliardo, Grace Klienbach, Mackenzie Lancaster*, Katelynn Russ, Melissa Samoskevitch, Sarah Schweinfeier, Emma Vlasic, Alyssa Wohlfeiler.

Minnesota Whitecaps:

Goaltenders - Amanda Leveille, Allie Morse.

Defensemen - Rose Alleva*, Amanda Boulier, Winny Brodt Brown, Sara Bustad, Lisa Martinson, Chelsey Rosenthal, Maddie Rowe, Emma Stauber*.

Forwards - Stephanie Anderson, Lynn Astrup, Jonna Curtis, Meghan Lorence, Haley Mack, Meaghan Pezon, Audra Richards, Nina Rodgers, Haylea Schmid, Allie Thunstrom, Brooke White-Lancette*.

Toronto Six:

Goaltenders – Elaine Chuli, Samantha Ridgewell.

Defensemen – Kristen Barbara, Lindsay Eastwood, Emma Greco, Megan Quinn, Sarah Steele.

Forwards – Julie Allen, Brooke Boquist, Taytum Clairmont*, Sarah-Eve Coutu-Godbout, Amy Curlew, Shiann Darkangelo, Emily Fluke, Mikyla Grant-Mentis, Mackenzie MacNeil*, Natalie Marcuzzi, Breanne Wilson-Bennett, Emma Woods, Taylor Woods.

*Unavailable as of March 24, 2021.

Any replacement players must be approved by the Commissioner.

The first semifinal game featuring Toronto and Boston will be played on March 26 at 5 p.m. ET, followed by Minnesota facing off against Connecticut at 8 p.m. ET. The winners compete for the Isobel Cup at 7 p.m. EST on March 27. All three championship weekend games will be televised on NBCSN and streamed on NBCSports.com and the NBC Sports app exclusively in the U.S., and streamed via Twitch in Canada and other international markets.

About the National Women’s Hockey League (NWHL): Established in 2015, the NWHL was the first professional women’s hockey league in North America to pay its players. The mission of the league is to fuel the continued growth of the sport and brand of pro women’s hockey. The league is made up of the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, and the Toronto Six. Visit NWHL.zone and follow on Twitter and Facebook @NWHL and Instagram @NWHL.zone.

About the Isobel CupThe Isobel Cup is the championship trophy of the National Women’s Hockey League. It takes its name from Lord Frederick Arthur Stanley’s daughter, Isobel, who shared his love of the game and is known to be one of the first female hockey players in Canada. Isobel, along with her brothers, encouraged her father to purchase a silver cup to award to the best amateur hockey team in Canada. The Stanley Cup, as it was later named, became the championship trophy of the National Hockey League.

The front of the Isobel Cup reads: "The Lady Isobel Gathorne-Hardy Cup 1875-1963. This Cup shall be awarded annually to the greatest professional women's hockey team in North America. All who pursue this Cup, pursue a dream; a dream born with Isobel, that shall never die. EST. 2016.”

Media Contact

Paul Krotz